1. Education

Japanese Writing


Welcome to my free Japanese writing lessons. There are three types of scripts in Japanese: kanji, hiragana and katakana. The combination of all three is used for writing. Japanese characters are very different from those found in western alphabets. You might think it is hard to learn, but I think it is the most interesting and fun part of the Japanese language. Already confused? Don't worry; these free japanese lessons will help you to understand how to write Japanese, step by step.
  1. Kanji
  2. Hiragana
  3. Katakana
  4. Calligraphy


Kanji are used for writing nouns, stems of adjectives, adverbs and verbs.


Hiragana is used for grammatical endings of verbs, adjectives and nouns, as well as for particles, and several other words of Japanese origin.


Katakana is generally used for foreign names, places, and the words of foreign origin.


Japanese calligraphy is the art of drawing characters with a brush to express spiritual depth and beauty.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.